Family Activities / Holidays & Traditions / Monte Cady a.k.a. Dad / parenting / Peggy Cady

How Many Tootsie Pops does it take….

My daughter, Gloria came over to visit today.  I love when she comes over because of the way our relationship has evolved. Even though I made many parenting mistakes with her, she recognizes that I was doing the best I could with what I had.  “And besides,” she says, “I turned out pretty good in spite of you!”  Well, that’s our relationship in a nutshell.

Gloria is currently living with her mother-in-law and her family.  This includes her four-year-old sister-in-law and eight-year-old brother-in-law.  No, Gloria didn’t rob the cradle, her husband, Justin, is 24 years older than his younger sister who loves that Gloria and Justin are living with them. Every time they leave to go somewhere, Livy wants to go with them. Justin came up with this great idea (bribe) that if she stays home, he will bring her a lollipop. She falls for it every time. So, in true adult fashion, Justin invested in a bunch of Tootsie Pops. Oh the nostalgia!

I asked Gloria if she paid the kids for every Indian that they found just like Grandpa used to do. She dead-panned me, raised a single eyebrow and said, “He only gave us a quarter.”

“It doesn’t matter!” I said. “Money is money to a four-year-old.”

“Even at four Livy realizes that $.25 is pretty cheap, Mom,” Gloria said.

To which I replied, “Yes, but it’s the challenge of it all. The excitement. The anticipation of knowing that the sucker she was bribed with to stay home might actually pay her $.25. You’ve let the tradition die an unmourned death in your cold, dead heart!”

Gloria rolled her eyes at me in a very dramatic fashion, simply said, “Oh brother!” and walked away.

Later that evening Gloria and I did, in fact, relive her childhood memories surrounding Indians shooting arrows at stars on Tootsie Pop wrappers. I’m sure that she will pass the tradition on to her own children. If she doesn’t, I will.

Peggy – #4

Leave a Reply

