Recipes / S. Cady Allred / Uncategorized

Chicken Primavera

About 9 years ago, I went on a diet. Not my first diet. Not my last (sigh).  During that period, I lost nearly 90 lbs.  Along the way, I picked up several recipes I LOVE and (surprisingly) my family loves too.  One of them is Chicken Primavera. It’s SUPER easy, super fast to prepare, and I get requests for the recipe all the time.

Chicken Primavera

4-6 (4 oz. chicken breasts, thawed)

1 can Hunts Pasta Sauce (I prefer the four cheese version)

1/2 cup diced onions (or dried onions, if you’re in a hurry – I always am)

2 T garlic, minced (I like the pre-minced stuff from the store)

1 T dried oregano

2 tsp dried basil

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (if you like a bit of a bite)

salt, if desired (I like sea salt)

1 C Mozarella cheese

1/4 C Parmesan cheese

 

Directions:  Place thawed chicken breast in a baking pan sprayed with Pam.  Mix all the rest of the ingredients (except for the cheeses) in a bowl. Pour over the chicken. Sprinkle the cheeses over the sauce/chicken mix.  Cover with tin foil. Bake in an oven at 350 degrees F for 1 hour (double the time if your chicken is still frozen, checking the center to see if the pink is gone every 15 minutes after the first 90 minutes).

Serve.

 

Prep time (if using dried onions): 5 minutes

Cook time: 60 minutes.

 

Tip:  I can imagine this would be a good crock pot meal too. I’ve just never tried it.  If any of you attempt this in a crock pot, let me know how it ends up!

 

 

Leave a Reply

